Print Page | Contact Us | Register
News & Press: ICMA

Tar Heels honored with ICMA Service Awards

Friday, December 20, 2019   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Matt Lail
Share |

A host of city and county managers and assistant managers, many of whom are members of the N.C. City & County Management Association (NCCCMA), were recently recognized with service awards from the International City & County Management Association (ICMA), the premier local government leadership and management organization. These remarkable achievements were formally honored during a Celebration of Service to the Profession as part of ICMA’s 2019 Annual Conference at the Music City Center in Nashville, Tennessee, on Wednesday, October 23, 2019.

The ICMA Local Government Service Awards Program recognizes and celebrates members’ dedication to public service and professional management at the local level.  Awards are based on the number of years of full-time employment in local government.

The Local Government Service Awards are granted for 10 and 20 years of full-time, paid employment in local government. After 20 years of local government service, awards are presented in five-year increments. Eligibility is extended to any full ICMA member who has been a member of ICMA for a minimum of five years. (Dues payments must be current as well.) Those members who received awards for 30 years or more of local government service are traditionally recognized individually on stage. 

Here is a list of those ICMA Service Award Recipients from North Carolina:

50 years

Wayne Horne, Laurinburg, City Manager

45 years

Jim Hipp, Spartanburg County, SC, Deputy Manager and NCCCMA Life Member

 40 Years

Tommy Marrow, Butner, Town Manager

Randy McCaslin, High Point, Deputy City Manager

30 Years

Lane Bailey, Salisbury, City Manager

Amy Cannon, Cumberland County, County Manager

Larry Faison, Monroe, City Manager

Scott Hildebran, Lenior, City Manager

Joe Huffman, Horry County, SC, Assistant Manager and NCCCMA Life Member

Tony King, Louisburg, Assistant Town Administrator

John Ogburn, Asheboro, City Manager

Terri Parker, Winterville, Town Manager

Hardin Watkins, Burlington, City Manager

25 Years

Tony Brown, Halifax County, County Manager

Scott Buffkin, Clemmons, Village Manager

Kim Eagle, Gaston County, County Manager

Jim Fatland, Brevard, City Manager

Ken Gamble, Denton, Town Manager

Andrew Grant, Cornelius, Town Manager

Randy Hemann, Mooresville, City Manager

Reagan Parsons, Southern Pines, Village Manager

Sheri Slater, Onslow County, Assistant County Manager

Gregg Whitehead, Richlands, Town Manager

20 Years

Larry Bergman, Wallace, Town Manager

Lou Buonpane, Raleigh, Chief of Staff

Selena Coffey, Weaverville, Town Manager

Marvin Collins, Wendell, Town Manager

John Eller, Davie County, County Manager

Michael Felts, Granville County, County Manager

Bryan Gruesbeck, Pittsboro, Town Manager

David Hewett, Holden Beach, Town Manager

Matthew Johnson, Jamestown, Assistant Town Manager

Chris Knopf, Surry County, County Manager

Kerry McDuffie, Ahoskie, Town Manager

Martha Paige, Morrisville, Town Manager

Matthew Reece, Piedmont Triad Regional Council, Assistant Director

Chris Roberson, Kenansville, Town Manager

Chris Rollins, Mebane, Assistant City Manager

Matthew Roylance, Garner, Assistant Town Manager

Casey Smith, Davidson County, Assistant County Manager

Eddie Smith, Kannapolis, Assistant City Manager

Lee Worsley, Triangle J COG, Executive Director

10 Years

Doug Barrick, Rutherfordton, Town Manager

Jason Burrell, Canton, Town Manager

Ed Evans, Blowing Rock, Town Manager and NCCCMA Life Member

Ken Geathers, Rutherford College, Town Manager

David Hollis, Leland, Town Manager

David Pugh, Cramerton, Town Manager

Mark Stephens, New Bern, City Manager

Sybil Tate, Buncombe County, Assistant County Manager                                                     


Duane T. Holder says...
Posted Monday, December 23, 2019
Congratulations to our leader, Ms. Amy Cannon, on her commitment to the citizens of Cumberland County and her contributions to good local government in the State of North Carolina!